WBISCT Pty Ltd – Enterprise Architecture Consulting and Training

What is TOGAF 9.2 about?

You may have heard about certain certifications in Enterprise Architecture, what they do who should consider them etc.

So today, I am reviewing for you one of them called The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF) version 9.2

Firstly, TOGAF® 9.2 Level 1 & Level 2 is accredited by The Open Group (check at the end of this blog what that is). Generally, you can be trained on 9.2 over 4 consecutive days, this includes both Foundation and Certified qualifications.

Such course claims to be providing best practice knowledge in the TOGAF Open Group Standard, an internationally recognised certification for Enterprise Architects, Business Solutions Managers and C-suite executives.

The TOGAF® Standard, Version 9.2 is meant to be providing an understanding of things like an Architecture Development Method (ADM) cycle and all the phases that make up the cycle, including for each phase, but also the extended security considerations that need to be addressed during application of the ADM or how to address change and requirement management etc.

Recently, TOGAF was updated from v 9.1 to 9.2 and it is said that the TOGAF Standard, Version 9.2 is a great improvement over Version 9.1. Reportedly, the materials and flow in the latest release now has a more understandable, direct bearing on architecture practice and architecture consulting in general.

The latest release supports the primacy of business thinking in architecture rather than a focus on IT, which was often how enterprise architecture has been seen.

The major changes that have been released in TOGAF Standard Version 9.2 include;

  • The structure of TOGAF is now treated as an “eco-system” that includes the core TOGAF Body of Knowledge but also adds links to additional guides, some of which can lead to further credentials with which you can showcase your achievements.
  • The description of the Architecture Development Method precludes a mistaken ‘waterfall’ interpretation and plays to the agile ideas that TOGAF has always supported.
  • The initial phase, Preliminary, now includes a tools strategy with much wider reference to tools beyond architecture such as business modelling and management including repository management, and governance.
  • The first phase in the TOGAF cycle, Architecture Vision, is now explicit about important, early modelling such as Value Chains, Value Streams and Capabilities.  This supports the primacy of business thinking in architecture rather than a focus on IT which was often how enterprise architecture has been seen.
  • The Business Architecture phase has been expanded and is supported by more useful entities and artefacts.
  • The monolithic 9.1 Specification has been slimmed down and surrounded by a useful ecosystem of guides, most of which are geared to the practitioner.  Some of the guides have also been extended, security is an example.
  • Definitions and terms have been worked over for clarity and simplification with extraneous or explanatory material shown as a note

The Foundation module is said to be intended for:

  • Architects who are looking for a first introduction to TOGAF 9
  • Professionals who are working in roles associated with an architecture project such as those responsible for planning, execution, development, delivery, and operation
  • Business Analysts, Systems Analysts and Technical Analysts who want to career develop into enterprise architecture
  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of TOGAF 9

While the Practitioner module seems to target more:

  • Individuals who require a deeper understanding of TOGAF 9, e.g., System Integrators, Operational, Business and IT Developers, CIO’s and IT Managers, Program and Project Leaders, IT Specialists, Architects
  • Professionals who are working in an organisation where TOGAF 9 has been adopted and who need to participate in architecture projects and initiatives
  • Architects who will be responsible for developing architecture artefacts
  • Architects who wish to introduce TOGAF 9 into an architecture practice
  • Business Analysts, Systems Analysts and Technical Analysts who want to career develop into enterprise architecture
  • Enterprise architects who want to achieve a recognised qualification to demonstrate their detailed knowledge of TOGAF 9
  • etc.

In general the TOGAF standard will cover things like:

  1. The Architecture Development Method
  2. Architecture Principles and Requirements
  3. Architecture Vision
  4. Risk Management
  5. Enterprise Integration
  6. Building Organisational Capability
  7. Architecture Governance
  8. Stakeholder Management and Risk Management
  9. Security Architecture
  10. Enterprise Integration and Service Oriented Architecture
  11. Transition Planning

Though, there are no formal prerequisites to attempt the TOGAF 9.2 certification, it is however very helpful to have a certain amount of practical experience in several fields like, Risk or Project Management for instance…

The Open Group which owns and accredits the TOGAF standard is a vendor- and technology-neutral industry consortium, with over five hundred member organisations. It was formed in 1996 when X/Open merged with the Open Software Foundation. Services provided include: strategy, management, innovation and research, standards, certification, and test development.

Check them out here: